Honey-Lime Chicken Skewers

4

June 24, 2012 by istealstuff

It’s hot. Ok, not like sit in your underwear in front of the ac hot, but it’s still hot enough that I am not even close to being interested in turning on the oven to make dinner. Grilling outside was a good way to avoid heating up my kitchen. I sat down and skimmed my “food for thought” board on pinterest and came across this gem – Honey-lime chicken skewers. Here is the link to the pin and here is the link directly to the website for Kitchenmeetsgirl.com

I read through the ingredients and knew right away I was missing a few items. But like I said, it was hot, really hot and I was NOT about to go get all hot and sticky for the ingredients I was in need of(of course, it’s not like I needed chicken…). I made do with what I had and after 1 bite – I knew this had to become a regular on our menu. So here it is…

Honey-Lime Chicken Skewers
If you’re using bamboo skewers, soak your sticks in water for at least 5 minutes. Cut chicken into large chunks, and skewer. Allow to marinate for at least 1 hour(prior to skewering).

adapted from Grocery Budget 101

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • juice of one lime
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced(this is one that I didn’t have, so I added about 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder instead)
  • 1-2 teaspoon Siracha(not only did I not have this, I had never even heard of it. It’s a hot chili sauce if anyone else was wondering – I didn’t sub this with anything because we are lightweights when it comes to heat in this home)
  • red pepper flakes, to taste (I know, know – the picture is of red pepper – not flakes – I didn’t have a can that said red pepper flakes…)
  • 2 tablespoons cilantro
  • 1 pound skinless, boneless chicken breasts

Instructions

  1. In a small bowl, combine your ingredients for the marinade. Mix thoroughly.
  2. If skewering, chop the chicken into chunks before covering with marinade. Pour marinade over chicken breasts and turn to coat. Cover and allow to marinate for at least 1 hour.
  3. Grill on medium high heat for 6 to 8 minutes per side, until juices run clear.

I doubled the batch and was thrilled to have left overs. 1 pound of chicken fed the three of us(although my son is not quite 2, so if you were feeding 3 adults you might need additional sides to stretch the meal). Quick tip – measure your vegetable oil first, then use the same tablespoon to measure the honey – makes the honey slide out of the spoon πŸ™‚

We also had spanish rice, tortillas, salsa, cheese and sour cream. To be honest, the chicken was so flavorful we ate it by itself.

4 thoughts on “Honey-Lime Chicken Skewers

  1. Shannon says:

    I just made this last night and it was delicious! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  2. Ellie Abney says:

    This looks so yummy! And I laughed at your Siracha comment because we are so opposite here. We have so many bottles of different hot sauce here (including Siracha). The hotter the better!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 290 other followers

