Italian Rolls

Leave a comment

June 26, 2012 by istealstuff

We love bread – especially the soft buttery kind you get at Italian restaurants. Pinterest did not fail to impress when I came across the pin for this recipe

I make this just about every time I make any pasta dish. It serves as a nice incentive to my 1 1/2 year old who hates pasta….”have another bite of spaghetti then you can have a bite of the roll”…followed by my child gobbling huge bites of spaghetti. I’m not saying it’s a good idea, I’m just saying it works 🙂 You can check out the original recipe or you can do what I did(aka the I’m too lazy to let rolls rise approach).

Italian Herb (skillet) Bread:

Ingredients:

Dinner rolls(I buy these at my local walmart – super easy because they come in a pan I get to toss at the end)

1/4 teaspoon Basil

1/4 teaspoon Oregano

1/4 teaspoon Garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

1/4 teaspoon rosemary(which I omitted cause I hate rosemary)

1/8 teaspoon red pepper flakes

3 Tablespoons melted butter

Parmesan cheese

Directions:

1. I let the rolls sit on the counter for a bit before baking them, just enough time for them to thaw(though you can do this from frozen too).

2. Combine the seasoning with the butter then brush half of the mixture onto the tops of the rolls. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese.

3. Bake the rolls at 350 for 15-20 minutes. Until tops are lightly browned. If baking from frozen, cover with foil for the first 10 minutes, then remove foil to allow the top to brown lightly.

4. Brush the remaining butter/herb mixture and serve.

Here is it before I popped it in the oven – so this has half of the butter mixture and a generous amount of parmesan

This is out of the oven, and after being brushed with the remainder of the butter mixture…mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 290 other followers

