Shower Cleaner

4

July 2, 2012 by istealstuff

I love cleaning. I know I’m weird, but hey – my husband loves it so we’re both happy 🙂 However, there is one thing I abhor when it comes to cleaning…the shower. It’s exhausting and I feel like it stays clean for about half a second. I have tried so many different cleaners hoping to find the one that would magically make the job easier. The store bought cleaners were not effective. I found this pin and decided to try it out. Now this cleaner did not get rid of the black that has overtaken portions of our white grout but soap scum and dirt disappeared with hardly any scrubbing necessary. It requires much less elbow grease so that makes it a winner in my book. Here it is!

 

This could not get any easier. 2 ingredients!

Equal parts blue dawn dish detergent and distilled white vinegar(warmed in the microwave).

I use 6 ounces of each and that does my entire shower and tub.

Just heat the vinegar so it’s hot when you mix it with the dish detergent. Pour both ingredients into a spray bottle, give it a swirl to mix and spray your shower down top to bottom. You can leave it over night or for as long as you can during the day before scrubbing and rinsing. You can use this cleaner on your sinks too.

As you can see from the above picture – this cleaner is thick enough to stick to the walls. There is no “after” picture because even though I can see and feel the soap scum before and lack of after, the camera cannot. You’ll just have to trust me on it.

Just as a warning – this is an extremely strong smell. I am NOT joking. I spray my shower, open the window, turn on the fan and close the door on my way out while it sits. Try it and you’ll see what I mean. That being said, it is still totally worth using 🙂

***Update: Brenda commented below and asked if the solution can be used cold or if it must be used right after being mixed. I mixed up a batch, let it cool completely and used it on my sinks and counters and it worked wonderfully. I even used it in my toilet! I have half a bottle sitting under my sink and plan on using it as my bath and kitchen cleaner from now on. It worked especially well on the stove, it cut right through all the splashed on grease. Plus I like not having the chemical fumes in my home, especially now that we have a kid in the house! Another plus – it didn’t seem to have the strong odor as when it is sprayed while hot.

4 thoughts on “Shower Cleaner

  1. Ellie Abney says:

    Awesome!! I must try!!

  2. Brenda says:

    Do you need to use it while it’s warm or just when it’s being mixed?

    • istealstuff says:

      That’s a really good question. I read through as many reviews for the cleaner as I could find and it sounds like a lot of people mix a bottle of it and leave it under their sink. I’ll mix up a batch, let it cool and use it on my sinks etc and let you know for sure 🙂

  3. Dionne King from Arlington, WA says:

    I use this recipe all the time and it works great on my hard water stains. A word of caution: Do not overheat the vinegar as it will warp your spray bottle if it is too hot. (I found that out the hard way LOL)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 290 other followers

