Mirror, mirror on the wall…

6

July 11, 2012 by istealstuff

Somewhere around 10 years ago I purchased this mirror at Walmart.

I loved it and have used it as a focal piece everywhere I’ve lived for the last 10 years. Now, don’t get me wrong – there is nothing really wrong with this mirror. I’m just sick of looking at it. I still love the detail on it and my friend Beth ( bethobriendesign ) is always encouraging me to slap a new color of paint onto my tired decorations. So that’s what I did!

I bought a can of spray paint for 3.57(the color matches an accent color on my throw pillows in the living room) and a jar of glaze for 5 bucks.

First I taped up the mirror(I just cut a black garbage back in half) then began the fun.

Here it is after a few coats of Jade. After painting the mirror I had to let it sit for a couple of days to be sure it was completely dry before I put the glaze on. This process reminded me how impatient I am.

Here it is after the glaze!

I bought a super cheap brush(less than a buck) and smooshed(wordpress is telling me smooshed is not a word but I’m pretty sure it’s the best word to describe how to apply to glaze and I’m also pretty sure you know exactly what I mean when I say smooshed…) the glaze into all the nooks and crannies. Then I took one of my husband’s old t-shirts and wiped some of the glaze off to get the coverage I wanted. The glaze can be cleaned up with soap and water so applying it was pretty stress free.

Before and after shots 🙂

I cannot put into words how thrilled I am with the mirror. Now I’m scouring my house looking for items I can paint. Especially now that I have some extra glaze(it seriously looks like I didn’t use any out of the container).

6 thoughts on “Mirror, mirror on the wall…

  1. I love the new paint finish on the mirror! Looks very modern but still has like a classy, vintage feel to it. Looks great!

    http://www.coordinatedkate.com

  2. Brenda says:

    That looks awesome! Can’t wait to see it in person!

    • istealstuff says:

      Thank you 🙂 Hey if you have anything you want to glaze feel free to bring it because I have tons of glaze left over and after a thorough search of my home – not a whole lot I can glaze.

  3. Melody says:

    I love it! It looks great and so easy!

  4. rachellesmom says:

    This is awesome! I love the look!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 290 other followers

