Creamy Crock Pot Mashed Potatoes

94

September 29, 2012 by istealstuff

My family is really good at a lot of things, but making delicious food ranks number one. Healthy food? Not so much. Why else would God have given us taste buds if not to enjoy what we eat?! (If you are looking to avoid holiday weight gain and NOT have to restrict yourself to dry toast and water, check out my post on getting through the holidays without packing on the pounds)The entire extended family knows who is best at making what dish – and each year that person is required (that’s right, they cannot opt out) to prepare and bring said dish to our get together. Every year my Auntie Brenda is commissioned to make mashed potatoes. Each year we run out and the following year she ups the amount she makes. Auntie Brenda, if you are reading this maybe you can comment with how many pounds of potatoes you are up to 🙂

This recipe is based on her out of this world make-ahead mashed potato recipe. The main difference is that I’m lazy and I don’t want to spend the time boiling, then draining potatoes. Not to mention doing extra dishes (I’m aware that I have a dishwasher. But that should tell you just how lazy I am).

The potatoes are flavorful, creamy and freeze and reheat wonderfully. You can make gravy to go with them if you want but they can hold their own without it.

First off, peel, rinse and dice your potatoes. This is the most labor intensive part of the recipe, I promise.

Plop them into the crock pot, pour the chicken broth over them. Add the butter and garlic to the top then turn the crock pot on to high for 4 and a half hours (lid on).

Mash the heck out of ’em. I was a little worried about some of the potatoes burning because of the high temp and the small amount of liquid. I actually only had 1 piece of potato sticking to the side of the crock pot, whew!

Toss in the pepper, Lawry’s, sour cream and cream cheese. Use the masher to mix. Then test the potatoes to see if you want/need to add the heavy cream. I ended up adding it in because I wanted a creamier texture. They are now ready for consumption. Wasn’t that easy? I will NEVER EVER EVER make mashed potatoes any other way. I hope you enjoy them! 🙂

Crock pot mashed potatoes

Ingredients:

5 lbs Yukon gold or Russet potatoes. Peeled and diced

1 stick of butter, cut into cubes

1/2 teaspoon minced garlic

1 1/2 cups chicken broth

2 teaspoons Lawry’s seasoned salt

1 teaspoon black pepper

8 oz cream cheese, cut into cubes

1/3 cup sour cream

1/3 cup heavy cream (optional)

Dump potatoes, chicken broth, butter and garlic into crock pot. Cook on high for 4 1/2 hours. Mash while in crock pot. Add Lawry’s, pepper, sour cream and cream cheese. Mix well. Add heavy cream if desired. Serve!

94 thoughts on “Creamy Crock Pot Mashed Potatoes

  1. rachellesmom says:

    Most delicious homemade mashed potatoes and sooo simple! ps You can tell by her posts, that she is far from lazy!

  2. Brenda says:

    Last time I made 30 pounds! I don’t mash them by hand, though.

  3. Bw says:

    Can they be made without cream cheese an sour cream? No a fan wondering if they would be fine with just heavy cream?

    • istealstuff says:

      Yes! Though – they won’t have as full a flavor. If I were making these without the cream cheese and sour cream I would add extra butter and heavy cream to help with the texture. Let me know how they turn out 🙂

      ps – so sorry it took me so long to get back to you. I had just arrived home with baby number 2 when you posted 🙂

    • AJFK says:

      I sometimes add Mayo instead of sour cream. Wonderful!

  4. bestywiggins says:

    I’m going to make these. My new crockpot is waiting.

  5. Renee says:

    How many guests did 5#’s of potatoes serve. Making this recipe for Thanksgiving!!

    • istealstuff says:

      Renee,

      So flattered that you are going to be serving this recipe! I hope your company enjoys it 🙂 A 5 pound bag should serve 10-15 people. I would normally figure 1/2 pound per person for my family – but we love us some mashed potatoes.

  6. Andrea says:

    How long can these stay in the crock pot on warm after they have cooked? Just trying to plan ahead for timing & wondered if they would hold up if left on warm for awhile.
    TIA-
    Andrea

    • istealstuff says:

      Andrea,
      The longest I’ve left them in was probably about 2 hours. Honestly, unless your crock pot has an unusually high “warm” setting you should be good. You may just want to stir them every once in a while to make sure the bottom doesn’t start sticking. But texture-wise I don’t think you should have any issues. Wish I had a more specific answer for ya. I hope the recipe works out for you! 🙂

  7. Benita says:

    Is good

  8. Could I cook these on low all day while I’m at work???
    – Becky

  9. Lyn says:

    Can you use vegetable broth instead of chicken broth?

  10. Maryann says:

    Here’s a hint…if you leave them on warm up to 2 house put a terry cloth dish towel under the lid. It will catch the steam so the potatoes don’t get thinned out by too much liquid.

  11. R says:

    Thanks for the recipe and congrats on baby #2

  12. Sandy Jo says:

    You said you don’t mash them by hand….do you use an electric hand mixer? If so could it hurt your crock pot?
    I’ve been looking for a crock pot mashed potato recipe and this is the best I’ve found…..was about ready to just buy them…..now I’m going to make them myself!

    • istealstuff says:

      Hi Sandy Jo

      Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by my blog and ask your question – yes you can use an electric mixer while the potatoes are in the crock pot. That should not be a problem at all. I do actually mash mine by hand because my lowest setting on my electric mixer can whip cream and I’d rather not paint my kitchen with potatoes 🙂 My aunt, who I adapted this recipe from, uses a mixer. Happy Thanksgiving! I hope you enjoy your mashed potatoes. – Rachelle

  13. terry says:

    Try evaporated milk,this was my mother’s secret it gives it such a rich flavor.

  14. Joy Gilton says:

    Do red potatoes work as well?

    • istealstuff says:

      Hi Joy,

      Alright, so yes you can use red potatoes. However, they don’t break down as easily as Russets or Yukons – which means you will have to work harder to get a smooth texture if that’s what you like. I’ve also heard they don’t absorb the diary quite as well – though I have not tried them with this recipe. Good luck! – Rachelle

      • Joy says:

        Thank you I will use the russets instead. sounds great and will not tie up the burners on my stove. Enjoy that new baby, they grow up way to fast.

  15. Debbie says:

    Can you double this recipe to 10 pounds in a crock pot?

    • istealstuff says:

      Hey Debbie,

      I believe my crock pot is one of the larger models, about 6 quarts. I definitely could not fit double the recipe in mine. So I think unless you have a really big crock pot – they probably won’t fit. I think I could probably do 1 1/2 times the recipe though if that helps at all. Also, the smaller you cube the potatoes the more you can fit. – Rachelle

  16. Lorinda says:

    You mention that the potatoes freeze well. Is this after you peel them orafter you mash them or when? I’m going to try them for thanksgiving dinner. Thanks for the recipe and everyones comments.

    • istealstuff says:

      Hi Lorinda,

      They freeze really well – when you freeze the finished product. Once the recipe is completed I fill quart size freezer bags and freeze them until I need one as a side dish. I re-heat them on the stove in a sauce pan over medium heat. I believe my aunt fills up foil pans, freezes them and then puts them in the oven when she is ready to use them. Hope you enjoy them! – Rachelle

      • Crystal Pham says:

        What a GREAT idea!! I’m going to freeze my leftovers too! THANK YOU!

      • Marla Petersen says:

        Another great way to freeze mashed potatoes is on a cookie sheet in 1/2 cup quantities. After they have frozen solid, remove them from the cookie sheet and place them in a large freezer bag. Now you have individual servings as needed! I found this idea on Pinterest.

  17. Denise Cotton says:

    Use a crock pot liner to avoid sticking and clean-up!

  18. Linda says:

    Just did a trial run on these today, wanted to be sure they would be okay for Thanksgiving, they are fabulous!!! Thank you, with so much to do on stove top that day, this will work great and they taste great, I did use the heavy cream as well. Actually made a mozzarella stuffed meatloaf with this today, lunches for the week now!!!

    • istealstuff says:

      Hey Linda,

      Thank you so much for coming back and leaving your feedback. I’m so glad you enjoyed them! I hope your family enjoys them on Thanksgiving too. Happy Thanksgiving! – Rachelle

  19. Crystal Pham says:

    I used this recipe today as a practice run for Thanksgiving. My husband, friend, two kids, and myself DEVOURED them! These were the best mashed potatoes I’ve ever tasted!! There’s no going back for our household! THANK YOU!!!

  20. Jacquie says:

    Quick tip to speed things up: Use a hand mixer rather than a potato masher. Not only is it quicker, but you end up with a much lighter potato.

  21. Donna says:

    My suggestions, don’t forget the crock pot liners! 🙂

  22. Joy says:

    What is a crock pot liner? .My crock pot is very old and is ceramic inside.

  23. Sandy says:

    Can you use an electric mixer if you use the liners?

    • Joy says:

      I sure hope so because i am going to use one.

    • istealstuff says:

      Hi Sandy,

      I’ve never used a liner so I’m really not sure. I don’t know how heavy duty they are and if they can withstand that type of friction. If anyone else has tried please let us know! – Rachelle

      • Heather says:

        I wouldn’t use a mixer with the liners. I use the liners all the time for other crock pot recipes. The liners lay loosly on the crock with lots of folds and excess liner material. The loose plastic of the liner would get caught in the mixer’s beaters and then tear and then you would have plastic all through your mashed potatoes. If you are worried about sticking and burning, use the liner to cook the potatoes and then carefully pull out the liner/pour out the potatoes into the crockpot then mash the potatoes in the crock sans liner.

  24. Gayle Langan says:

    Has anyone tried this with Almond, or Coconut Milk? Love mashed potatoes, but dairy does not like me much.

  25. Donnie Ulrich says:

    What is the best way to reheat?

  26. Whitney says:

    Can you add cheese and how would you recommend doing so? And when?very excited to use for thanksgiving tomorrow!

    • istealstuff says:

      Sure you can. I think if it were me I would wait until just before serving and sprinkle the top with sharp cheddar(or whatever you prefer) – just giving it enough time to melt over the top. I would test it before adding the cheese though just to make sure you will like the finished product. Happy thanksgiving!

  27. sher says:

    can I make them the day before I serve them and have them still taste as great???

  28. Melissa says:

    Have you ever prepped them the night before, and then cooked them the next day? Do the potatoes turn brown?

    • istealstuff says:

      Hi Melissa,
      Sorry I just realized I didn’t reply to your question. I’ve never prepped the potatoes ahead of time. I’ve only ever made them start to finish and then reheated them. I’m pretty sure the raw potatoes were turn brown if you peeled and cubed them the night before. Again – sorry this is a late reply! I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving.

    • U can refridgerate the peeled potatoes if you cover them with water they will not turn brown.

  29. I just made these an the flavor is great. I am hosting Thanksgiving on Saturday. I am not an experienced cook and I live in Colorado (high altitude). I used whipping cream (more than the recipe called for) and I hand mashed. They are not creamy at all. What is your suggestion? I love super creamy. I don’t know what to do and I don’t want to mess up the delicious taste. Any suggestions are appreciated.

    • istealstuff says:

      Hi! Sorry you are having trouble with the consistency – I’m not at all familiar with altitude problems. But – if it were me I would gradually mix in milk(whole would be best but whatever you have on hand would be ok) until you get the consistency you want. If anything – you might just add a little more lawry’s once you are finished adding the milk. I hope they turn out for you!

  30. Jessica D. says:

    I am in the process of making these as we speak. They have been in the crock pot for almost one hour and I just checked them and the potatoes on the top are spotting black/brown. Is that normal? It looks horrible and I’m worried that its going to discolor the mashed potatoes when they are finished! I opened the crock pot and removed some of them and stirred the rest towards the bottom. Help!

    • istealstuff says:

      With my crock pot only the edges of the top layer browns and the color does not affect the finished product. It should be fine. Sorry I can’t help more – i really think they will be fine. Otherwise I would let them finish cooking and then pick out the ones you are worried about just before mashing.

  31. Sarah Lucklum says:

    So yummy thanks so much for taking the “lazy” way…I don’t think it is lazy necessarily but a BIG efficiency booster and better than any boiled potatos I have ever had!!! Better than the taste was how I didn’t have to run around the kitchen right before the meal! Yay this is a keeper!!!

  32. Becky Crider says:

    I made this tonight – Thanksgiving! 8 lbs of potatoes, one-and-a-halfed the rest of the ingredients. Just test-tasting them was amazing!!!! I owe you. Wow! Also I substituted the Lawry’s with regular salt to taste because I had it on hand. Great recipe!

  33. Aimee C says:

    Holy crap. Someone shared this recipe on their FB page. We saw it and decided to try it for dinner. We freaken loved it. Oh, and I’ve never made mashed potatoes that weren’t in a box before. Thanks for sharing. Everyone needs it. Who would’ve thought, that cream cheese goes in mashed potatoes?!

  34. Joy says:

    Sorry, I made these for Thanksgiving Dinner and they WERE creamy, actually looked like wallpaper paste. No one liked them so back to my fluffy mashed potatoes, but I tried…

    • Ruth peters says:

      Ours looked the same but tasted so good. Everyone enjoyed and I’ll make again. I cut the potatoes early in the morning. Next time I will cut and cook immediately. Sorry you didn’t like yours. The gravy hid the look. LOL

      • Joy says:

        Ruth yours must have looked like mine,
        the great gravy didn’t help.. Back to my fluffy mashed potatoes. Didn’t like creamy and none of my guest did but i have tons left over.

  35. Joy says:

    Maybe i’ll try fried mashed potatoes?????????????

  36. Whitney says:

    How do you recommend reheating them? Do you add some milk or heavy cream t I keep them thinned out a little. They definitely thickened up after they were cooked…but we’re very yummy!!

  37. sherilyn says:

    I have veganized this dish by using tofutti cream cheese and soy creamer with great results!

  38. angi says:

    could i do these on low overnight? My crockpot also switches to warm after the desired cook time.

  39. Suzie says:

    how many people does the 5 lb’s feed?

  40. rebeccarwoods says:

    Im going to make this in the am. I have everything except sour cream. ….

  41. Sue says:

    de-freakin-licious! thank you for the recipe! It was a hit at Thanksgiving today and I’m glad I get to have some as leftovers 🙂 It was nice to have them prepared somewhat ahead of time then I didn’t have to rush with the few other last minute things that needed to be done.

  42. Roseanne says:

    I made these for Thanksgiving and plan to make them again for a family pot-luck. They were a big hit and it was nice to be able to prepare them ahead of time. My nephew and his daughter had three helpings each!

  43. Helen says:

    All I have on hand are white potatoes. Did
    Will these do well in the slow cooker?

  44. Kris says:

    made today. Came out really thick. Next time will add milk and cream and omit the cream cheese. Sooo yummy though!

  45. Meghan crain says:

    Hi! Could these be made ahead of time and then put into a 9×13 baking dish and reheated in the oven?

    • istealstuff says:

      I’m so sorry I didn’t get to respond before the holiday!! Yes yes yes they can be made ahead of time and reheated in a baking dish. I would just be sure to monitor them closely and stir occasionally to make sure any liquid is absorbed properly.

  46. Christina says:

    I made these today for Thanksgiving dinner, and they were a HUGE hit! I followed the recipe exactly and they were so creamy and smooth!! Thanks for sharing this recipe, I don’t think I will make potatoes any other way now!!!

  47. Natasha says:

    I’m planning on making these for a work event (might even try before). But do they reheat well in a crockpot? We don’t have a stove or oven at my job, my only option really is in the crock pot; however, I didn’t want them not to work out that way. Thanks in advance!

    • istealstuff says:

      Oy, I’m so sorry about not responding right away. Yes, they can be reheated in a crockpot – you would just need to stir(scrape the bottom and sides) occasionally and watch for consistency – if they look a little thin take the lid off and let some moisture escape. Merry Christmas!!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 290 other followers

