Chocolate Chip Scones

Leave a comment

November 25, 2013 by istealstuff

IMG_6152

I’ve been meaning to share this scone recipe for over a year. Now I feel guilty for letting you go without it for that long. I think once you take your first bite of your hot out-of-the-oven chocolate chip scone you will forgive me, I hope.

This scone recipe has a lot going for it. It’s just a few ingredients. It’s inexpensive. It’s super quick. It’s incredibly yummy. It’s versatile.

I guess you don’t really NEED a reason to make these. But just in case you are looking for one you can make them for breakfast, dessert, brunch, tea, because your stomach is empty…

Ok, now that we have rationalized making the scones let’s get started.

IMG_6104

Mix the flour, powdered sugar and baking powder.

Add softened butter.

IMG_6105

Gently beat egg and add to milk. Stir.

IMG_6106

Add milk and egg mixture to the dry ingredients and mix.

IMG_6107

Stir chocolate chips.

IMG_6110

IMG_6113

Dump onto a well floured surface and roll to 1/2″ thickness.

Cut into triangles. Sprinkle with sugar.IMG_6116

Place on a baking sheet and bake at 400 for 8-10 minutes.

IMG_6118

You can gently tap the center of one of the scones to make sure it’s done. Only the bottoms will turn brown – not the tops.

IMG_6125

I usually serve them warm with a little butter. MMMMMMmmmmmmm. I store left overs in the fridge and just toss one in the microwave when I’m ready to eat it.

Chocolate Chip Scones:

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 6 tablespoons of room temperature butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 3/4 cup nestle semi-sweet baking morsels

Mix flour, powdered sugar and baking powder in mixing bowl. Beat egg slightly and add to milk. Add milk and egg mixture to try ingredients and mix thoroughly. Stir in chocolate chips. Place on a floured surface and  roll to 1/2″ thickness. Cut into triangles and sprinkle with sugar. Place on a baking sheet and bake at 400 for 8-10 minutes.

*you can also drop by spoonfuls if you prefer not to roll out the dough.

My mom always made chocolate chip scones(believe me they sound much more daunting than they are). Now, I would never, ever, ever deviate from using chocolate chips. EVER. But it seems in an effort to keep all the guests at a baby shower tea happy, I was forced to deviate(sorry mom!) Here are the variations I ended up baking.

Raspberry and white chocolate

Raspberry and dark chocolate

Raspberry and coconut

Blueberry

Chocolate chip

Plain

We had a variety of spreads for the scones (lemon curd, jams, clotted cream etc).

For each type of scone I used the same dough recipe as the base. The first batch I quadrupled the recipe then divided it into fourths. I added raspberries, chocolate, coconut etc to each bowl of dough. Once the extra few ingredients were folded in, I rolled out the dough (half inch thick) then cut it into small triangles, placed them on a cutting board and into my freezer until they were hard enough not to stick together, popped them all into a bag and left them in the freezer until it was time to bake(3 weeks away).

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 290 other followers

